Cook County Judges

Send your comments to picepil@aol.com (see about for guidelines)

Illinois law should be changed so that juries can acquit guilty person if they feel it is just

with 8 comments


Jurors have a legal right to vote their conscience and ignore judges instructions if they believe the law is unjust.

Jury nullification is when a jury, despite the State proving all the elements  of a crime and the offender being technically guilty, decides that they will not convict the person because they believe it would be bad for society – either they believe the charge is fraudulent, the law is incorrect, or there is some other reason that the person should not be convicted.

Jury nullification is legal and binding in all states, but all states except New Hampshire prohibit the defense attorney from informing the jury about this option. The jury is just supposed to divine this information by inspiration.

In New Hampshire, a law was passed that allows the court to inform the jury of the jury nullification option.

In New Hampshire, on Friday September 14, 2012, a jury used jury nullification to declare Rastafarian Doug Darrel not guilty of a felony marijuana cultivation charge. The jury believed that punishing him for the offense would be unjust.

Darrel claimed he grew 15 marijuana plants for personal medicinal and religious purposes. His religion permits marijuana for religious purposes.

A little old straight-laced lady on the jury  stated she found him not guilty because she

knew that my community would be poorer rather than better off had he been convicted.

Due to the new jury nullification information law the judge read to the jury the following statement:

Even if you find that the State has proven each and every element of the offense charged beyond a reasonable doubt, you may still find the defendant not guilty if you have a conscientious feeling that a not guilty verdict would be a fair result in this case.

If this law applied to all states, as marijuana use is widespread and no more harmful than alcohol, with the majority of the population agreeing that it should be legalized, citizens would clearly find all those arrested for marijuana  possession and growing marijuana for medical or personal use not guilty. This would be a method that citizens could use to negate bad laws.  I’m all for it, despite the fact I never use marijuana!

For more information see the web site of the Fully Informed Jury Association here.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi, Linda,

    As promised, I have followed you and am surprised that you started blogging on December 5, 2008 at 4:54 pm! Looks like there is a lot of invaluable information to be derived from your nearly four years of blogging.

    In comparison, I am merely a freshman! I just started on April 12, 2012. However, in six months I have published 168 posts on my blog and feel encouraged and energized after receiving several serious requests for help! Let’s stand united from now on, and urge others to join us! May justice prevail anywhere in the United States and the whole world as well!

    Have a great day,

    Paul Chen

    Like

    ricofraudonthecourt

    October 7, 2012 at 11:16 am

  2. Paul – We need to network as pro se litigants and expose the racketeering, corruption, and injustices. Our goals might be listed as: 1) first expose the injustices 2)network to develop solutions to change the system (figure better ways to pick judges, fund the indigent legal defense, and provide oversight to the courts from the citizens and not just the fox watching the henhouse, and 3) work together to change laws and get passed a constitutional amendment to address the issues, and 4) help implement the changes. I would like a list of your objectives, what you found are the major problems, and your suggestions for change. I put a link to your web site on one of mine and will put it on all my web sites. United we stand for change, divided we fail.

    Like

    Linda Shelton

    October 7, 2012 at 1:37 pm

  3. Linda, You are absolutely right about the goals listed. I will work on those goals and respond to them in more detail upon completing the DEFAULT JUDGMENT issue, which has a deadline on Friady, October 12. I will be more available for serious, lengthy discussions afterwards. Please bear with me for the necessary delay! Happy Columbus Day! Paul

    Like

    ricofraudonthecourt

    October 8, 2012 at 1:29 pm

  4. Linda,

    In response to your lofty goal, I am writing “PAUL “PAUPER” CHEN’S LAST WILL: DONATING ALL JURY-AWARDED PUNITIVE DAMAGES FROM THE CROOKS TO DR. LINDA SHELTON’S LOFTY CAUSES”!!! Your satisfaction guaranteed! Based on a great body of case law, the malice and egregiousness of my Defendants will entitle me substantial punitive damages. How much? Sky is the limit, according to the precedents! TO BE CONTINUED!

    Paul Chen

    Like

    ricofraudonthecourt

    October 9, 2012 at 3:34 am

  5. Your mission statement inspired, invigorated, sparked and fired me up to write my will!

    In response to your call for my objectives, the major problems I found and my suggestions for change, I will have to examine my allegations against each Defendant. I need to answer the questions as to why I sued each of them, what wrongs or crimes had been inflicted on me, and what state, federal laws, or what state, federal constitutional rights of mine were violated, and what remedies are available if properly prosecuted and adjudicated on the merits one of these days.

    As the Orders/Judgments are all VOID ab initio, anytime anywhere anyone appointed while I am alive and kicking can sue on my behalf. And when I go to see our Father in Heaven, through my will and a Power of Attorney to be notarized, you can coordinate with my heirs to map out a strategy to carry on my mission. Even 10, 20, 50, 100, 150 years from now, if the issues remain unresolved, my descendants will still have the legal right to pursue the Defendants’ heirs for restitutionary, compensatory and punitive damages as long as they are motivated enough to have justice done!

    Like

    ricofraudonthecourt

    October 9, 2012 at 1:53 pm

  6. I wish I had the money to leave it to a foundation as you want to do. However, maybe we can recruit some wealthy spokespersons from the sports and acting worlds, or people like Bill Gates, to help us bring justice back into our just – us system where greed and power seem to be more important than law and morality.

    Like

    Linda Shelton

    October 19, 2012 at 4:45 pm

  7. Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I in finding It truly useful & it helped me out much. I hope to provide something again and help others like you helped me.

    Like

    Heriberto

    December 5, 2012 at 5:53 am

  8. Hi there to all, it’s actually a pleasant for me to visit this web site, it includes helpful Information.

    Like

    anti snoring

    June 25, 2013 at 7:32 pm


Leave a Reply

